March 2, 2011

TEAM UPDATE #16

GENERAL NOTICES

Note: In Team Update 15 we stated we would only post Team Updates on Tuesdays during the
competition season. While we still plan to stick to that schedule, a scenario has come to light that we
feel must be addressed before the Week 1 competitions begin to ensure fair play for all TEAMS.

It has come to our attention that some TEAMS have concluded a ‘one move win’ is possible under the
following scenario:

A blue ALLIANCE ROBOT is in the blue ZONE. A second blue ALLIANCE ROBOT is outside the
ZONE, but in the general vicinity. A ROBOT from the red ALLIANCE, exiting its LANE, crosses near
the second blue alliance ROBOT. The second blue ALLIANCE ROBOT intentionally pushes the red
ALLIANCE ROBOT in to the blue ZONE. The red ALLIANCE ROBOT contacts the first blue
ALLIANCE ROBOT. This would result normally result in a YELLOW CARD for the second blue
ALLIANCE ROBOT and a RED CARD for the red ALLIANCE ROBOT per Rule <G32>. Howevet, if
this were to occur during an elimination match, this would result in the entire red ALLIANCE being
disqualified per Rule <T13>, and a ‘one move win’ by the blue ALLIANCE.

Referees will be instructed that an attempt to win a MATCH in this way, by the blue ALLIANCE in the
scenario above, would be considered particularly egregious behavior under Rule <T09>, resulting in a
RED CARD for the blue robot and thus a disqualification of the entire blue ALLIANCE under Rule
<T13>. As any attempt at this behavior would necessarily precede contact, in the scenario above, of
the red ALLIANCE ROBOT with the blue ALLIANCE ROBOT in the blue ZONE, the blue ALLIANCE
disqualification would take precedence over the red ALLIANCE disqualification, and the red
ALLIANCE will be declared the winner of the MATCH.

Section 1 - Introduction & Section 2 — The Arena

No changes.

Section 3 — The Game

In Team Update 13, we inadvertently missed adding penalties to the following rules:

<G32> Neither ROBOTS, HOSTBOTS, nor MINIBOTS may break the planes of the vertically
projected borders of the opponent*s ZONES, including a GAME PIECE in their
POSSESSION. Momentary incursions by a POSSESSED GAME PIECE will not be penalized
if they do not make contact with anything in the ZONE.

Violation: PENALTY. G61 does not apply to this rule, however strategies aimed at taking
advantage of this exception will result in a PENALTY plus a YELLOW CARD. If a ROBOT
enters the opponent's ZONE and does not make immediate effort to leave OR if it contacts
another ROBOT (or GAME PIECE in its POSSESSION) also in the ZONE, then the intruding
TEAM will receive a RED CARD.

<G33> During the TELEOPERATED PERIOD, neither ROBOTS, HOSTBOTS, nor MINIBOTS may
break the planes of the vertically projected borders of the opponent“s LANES, including a
GAME PIECE in their POSSESSION. Momentary incursions by a POSSESSED GAME
PIECE will not be penalized if they do not make contact with anything in the LANE.

Violation: PENALTY. G61 does not apply to this rule, however strategies aimed at taking
advantage of this exception will result in a PENALTY plus a YELLOW CARD. If a ROBOT
enters the opponent's LANE and does not make immediate effort to leave OR if it contacts




another ROBOT (or GAME PIECE in its POSSESSION) also in the LANE, then the intruding
TEAM will receive a RED CARD. (Exception: if a ROBOT should break the planes of the
vertically projected borders of the opponent’s LANES during the AUTONOMOUS PERIOD, it
will have a "grace period" to remedy the situation at the beginning of the TELEOPERATED
PERIOD; the grace period will be either 5 seconds or until an opponent ROBOT enters the
LANE — whichever comes first.)

Section 4 — The Robot, Section 5 — The Tournament & The Kit of Parts

No Changes
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